Local award

Leon Baradat Service Award

Application package deadline: The end of week 9 of the spring semester.
Baradat Award Application - 2018 (PDF - fillable form)

Description: The Leon Baradat Service Award, established in 2018, is conferred annually upon faculty of MiraCosta College. Leon Baradat was a faculty member in political science at MiraCosta from 1970 to 2003 who was committed to the practice of collegiality, both large scale and small. He was an outstanding teacher who engaged, challenged, and inspired his students. He was also founder and president of the Academic Senate for California Community Colleges.

This award honors outstanding MiraCosta faculty, one fulltime and one part-time, annually. These honorees will have a passion for teaching and a dedication to students. They additionally will have demonstrated excellence beyond the classroom in fostering engagement and creating a positive and inclusive campus climate through institutional service. These recipients will be leaders who have contributed to the larger good of the MiraCosta College campus. The award may be received only once during the faculty member's lifetime at MiraCosta College..

Award: Recipients of the annual Baradat Award, one fulltime and one part-time faculty member, each receive a "Gold Star" plaque and a cash award of $300. Winners are announced at the Spring Celebration of Excellence.

Service Criteria: Winning individuals will be nominated by a peer who will provide evidence of their impact at MiraCosta in the following areas through institutional service:

Employment Criteria: Fulltime nominees must be current tenured faculty. Associate faculty (classroom and non-classroom) must be currently employed with the District and must have been on contract for six (6) consecutive semesters (fall/spring) or assignment periods.

Link to Rubric (PDF)

Process: A call for nominations shall be posted by week 6 of spring semester. Peers may nominate any faculty (fulltime or part-time) meeting the above criteria who have not previously received the award. Each nomination will describe how the nominee meets the criteria.

Nomination packets will be reviewed and assess by the Awards Committee using the above assessment rubric.

Winners are announced at each annual Spring Celebration of Excellence.