Frequently Asked Questions
Who can attend MiraCosta College?
Anyone may attend MiraCosta College who is:
- 18 years of age or older or
- The holder of a high school diploma or equivalent or
- Currently attending high school as a sophomore, junior or senior. High school students are required to obtain a Concurrent Enrollment Permit Form Package signed by their high school principal and a parent. International students wishing to attend MiraCosta College on a F1/M1 visa must apply for admission through the Institute for International Perspectives.
When do classes start?
- 2017 Spring Semester: January 23
- 2017 Summer Semester: June 12
- 2017 Fall Semester: August 21
- 2018 Spring Semester: January 22
What are the fees to attend MiraCosta College?
- Per-unit enrollment fee is set by the state legislature for all community colleges and is subject to change. The fee is $46 per unit.
- State-mandated health services fee is $19 (during the summer session, it is $16).
- Student Center fee is $1 per unit but no more than $10 in a fiscal year (summer through spring).
- Materials fees. Some courses require a fee for class-related materials. Specific materials fees are included in the course description.
- Tuition for identified non-residents of California is $211 per unit, in addition to the $46 per-unit enrollment fee.
- Some students such as Active duty military and dependents may be exempt from the non-resident fee.
- Parking: All vehicles parking on campus are required to display a valid parking permit: four-wheeled vehicles--$35 per semester (during the summer session, it is $17.50); it is full price for a second permit. Exception: vehicles displaying a valid California disabled placard are not required to purchase a parking permit.
- Student ID card is $6. The student ID card supports a variety of college services such as using computer and language labs, and writing checks in the college bookstore. A valid student ID card serves as the MCC library card, expediting access to the library circulating collection and academic reserve collections. Students without a valid MCC student ID card will be asked to provide proof of current semester registration along with a government-issued photo ID and proof of current address. ID cardholders also receive discounts at various North County businesses such as movie theatres. ID cards and replacements are issued at the Student Activities offices on both campuses.
How long do I need to be a resident of California before I qualify for the in-state enrollment fee?
The residency rules as established by Title V of the California Code of Regulations require a one-year physical presence in the state of California prior to the first day of the semester, combined with one year of evidence of intent and ability to establish residency in California. Students may be required to present evidence regarding their residency. Some exceptions and limitations to the residency requirement exist; please call the Admissions and Records Office, (760) 795-6620 or (760) 634-7870 if you have questions about residency requirements.
How do I pay fees?
Required fees must be paid on the day of enrollment whether you enroll online or in person. You are not officially enrolled in your classes unless you have paid all required fees. Make payment online with MasterCard or VISA. If you enroll in person at the Admissions and Records Office, you will immediately pay fees at the Student Accounts Office. You may use cash, check, MasterCard or VISA at the Student Accounts Office. If you want to enroll online but do not want to use MasterCard or VISA, you may pre-pay at the Student Accounts Office. If you are receiving financial aid or a BOGW, make sure the Financial Aid Office has cleared you to enroll.
If you are receiving a scholarship, you must process your paperwork in the Scholarship Office located in the Oceanside Student Center, Bldg. 3400, before registering. For more information, call or stop by the Scholarship Office, (760) 795-6895.
Do I have to submit an application every semester?
No. If you are currently enrolled at MiraCosta and are planning to enroll in the next full semester or summer session, your records are active and you may enroll in classes using SURF online. If you are a new student or a former MiraCosta student returning after an absence of two semesters or more, you must complete an Application for Admission to activate your records in the online system.
What is my enrollment appointment date/time?
Continuing students are assigned a specific enrollment date and time based on the number of units completed (not including current semester) at MiraCosta College for continuing students. New students who have completed testing, orientation and advisement are also assigned a priority date and time. Students in special populations such as Veterans, EOPS and DSPS may be assigned an early enrollment date. Check with the Admissions Offices or the appropriate department for details.
New and returning students may enroll using SURF online or in person after continuing students. Check the enrollment schedule to determine dates.
State regulations require that high school students have a lower priority than regularly admitted students.
Preferred Name Process @ MIRACOSTA
In order to ensure than an individual's name reflects their gender identity, MiraCosta College makes it easy for students to change their preferred name in the Office of Admissions and Records. Preferred name is the default name automatically used on class rosters and student ID cards, in online courses (Canvas, Blackboard, Moodle), and to borrow items from the college library. In order to add or update a preferred name students must fill out a Change of Information form in the Office of Admissions and Records. NOTE: The Office of Admissions and Records does not currently require any documentation to add or update a preferred name. If students wish to change their primary (Legal) name documentation is required.
For more information about legally changing your name and gender in the State of California, check out this informative page from the California Courts.
How do I add or drop a class?
Changes to your class schedule may be made online using SURF. If you are adding more units to your schedule, or are subject to new fees such as course fees or Student Center fee, pay at the time you add the units.
Students are responsible for officially dropping a course at whatever point in the semester they choose to drop up to the final drop deadline. If a course is not officially dropped, either on SURF or in person, the student will receive a grade for the class.
Can I get a refund for classes I drop?
Yes, you may get a refund for required fees. Optional fees (parking and ID card) are non-refundable. State regulations allow refunds during the first two weeks of a semester-length class or by the 10 percent point of short-term courses. Refunds will be automatically mailed to you or credited to your credit card. You may still drop classes after the refund date, but you will not receive a refund. If you enrolled in a class that is cancelled by the college, you will receive an automatic refund (no need to drop the class).
How do I use the Wait List?
Once you are on a wait list, do not attempt to add the class again because you will be dropped off the wait list completely.
Once a class is filled, you have the option to be placed on a wait list. While enrolling in SURF, you may select the wait list option for a closed class. Prior to the start of the class, a nightly process will attempt to auto enroll students into any available seats. Information regarding success, payment required and problems will be communicated to students via e-mail. If enrolled students are not present or other students decide to withdraw from the class, the instructor may allow students from the wait list to enroll. The instructor will issue permission numbers to selected students who will then use that number to officially add the class on SURF, or in person at the Admissions and Records Office. If you are wait-listing an online class, in addition to choosing wait list on SURF, contact the class instructor via e-mail once class begins to ask for permission to enroll. If the instructor agrees, he/she will issue you a permission number, which you will use on SURF to complete the enrollment. Classes for which a student is wait-listed do not count as official enrollment and may not be used to fulfill enrollment requirements toward financial aid or verifications of enrollment. If you have not been automatically enrolled by the time the class starts, you may still try to "crash" by attending the first class meeting.
What if I miss the first class meeting—will I be dropped from class?
If the class is closed and has students waiting to crash, it is likely the instructor will drop you from class. If your absence is unavoidable and you are able to contact the instructor before class, you should do so by e-mail or telephone. It is at the discretion of the instructor whether or not to drop you from class. If you are dropped, you may try to “crash” at the next class meeting or try to get into another section of the same class.
How do I get my grades?
Final grades are available approximately 2-3 weeks after the end of the semester. Grades are accessed on the SURF online enrollment system at https://surf.miracosta.edu. You may print your unofficial grade report from SURF. We do not mail out grades.
How do I get my unofficial transcript?
You may view and print your unofficial transcript on the SURF online enrollment system. Due to federal privacy laws, your signature or authentication is required to release your official transcript (an official transcript has the college seal affixed and is often required by transfer institutions, employers, etc.). A parent, spouse or other relative may not request your transcript for you.
Can I take a class for Pass/No Pass?
You may petition to take a class for pass/no pass, which means you will not receive a letter grade for the class. If you earn a “C” or better, you will receive a grade of “P” for “pass”. Students planning to transfer should consult with the Transfer Center, (760) 795-6880, to determine if taking a class for pass/no pass will affect their transfer program. The deadline to petition for pass/no pass is by the 30% point of the class.
The class I want to take has a prerequisite. How can I get into the class?
Some classes have a prerequisite and students not meeting the prerequisite will not be able to enroll in the class (the online system will prevent enrollment). English and math prerequisites may be met by taking the English and math tests and following the placement recommendations; for details go to the Testing Office. Prerequisites for English, math and other courses may also be met by completing the prerequisite course at MiraCosta or the equivalent course at another school, or by demonstrating skills and knowledge to succeed in the class. Students also have the right to challenge the prerequisite requirement. Click here to print the Prerequisite/Priority Enrollment form. Documentation of courses taken at other colleges is required, see the form for details.
Can I repeat a class?
Students may repeat twice, any course in which a grade of “D” or “F” or “NC” has been received in order to raise the grade. Certain activity, performance and skill courses have been designated as repeatable courses and are identified in the course description in the college catalog. Repeatable courses are designated with the symbol + in the class schedule. Students with extenuating circumstances or a significant lapse of time may also petition for an additional repetition.
Can I audit a class?
No, auditing is not allowed at MiraCosta College.
Credit by Exam: What is it?
Students are able to enroll in Credit by Exam for certain MiraCosta College courses and earn credit by passing an exam. Want more information? Click here!
How do I petition to graduate?
To receive an Associates Degree or Certificate of Achievement, students must submit a petition to the Admissions and Records Office before the 30% deadline within the semester in which they expect to complete course requirements. Petition forms are found on the Counseling website. Students who have attended other colleges or universities are required to submit official transcripts for ALL institutions attended before an evaluation of coursework will be completed by Admissions and Records staff. Information on course requirements for all degree and certificate programs is found in the college catalog.
Do I need to have my transcripts from other institutions evaluated?
There are several reasons why you may need your transcripts evaluated.
- Transcripts may need to be reviewed for the purpose of confirming completion of prerequisites at other institutions. (See question on prerequisites for more information).
- Students who have completed coursework at other institutions will need to have coursework evaluated in order to complete an educational plan. This evaluation will determine which courses can be used to fulfill MiraCosta degree or certificate requirements.
- Financial Aid recipients may need to submit transcripts to determine successful progress is being made while receiving aid.
- All Veteran’s benefit recipients must have prior coursework evaluated in order to complete a comprehensive educational plan with a counselor.
What is an official transcript?
Official transcripts are those transcripts sent directly from one institution to another either by mail or by electronic means, or are in an original sealed (unopened) envelope. Transcript requests are initiated by the student, not by the college. It is the student’s responsibility to ensure that all appropriate transcripts are submitted to MiraCosta College. Official MiraCosta transcripts may be requested through our website.